ANSI 17024 Standards

ANSI 17024 Standards

July 1, 2022 / 5 mins read

National Inspection Testing and Certification Corporation (NITC) is a third-party provider of certification services to a variety of businesses. NITC tests and certifies personnel in the Medical Gas, Plumbing, Pipefitting, HVACR, Fire Protection & Safety Systems, and related industries.

What is Certification?
Professional certification is the process by which a person verifies that he or she has the knowledge, experience, and skills to perform a specific job and the tasks in which they have been trained.

Certifications are nationally recognized verifications of skill or knowledge attainment based on generally accepted skill standards for the occupation. Certifications usually include a combination of training, a demonstration of skills, experience requirements, and the successful completion of an examination.

Certification is a procedure by which a third party gives written assurance that a product, process, or service conforms to certain defined standards. The certificate proves to the buyer that the supplier conforms to certain standards, which might be more convincing than if the supplier itself provided the assurance.

Certification is always done by a third party. The verification is accomplished, and the assurance is provided by a party without a direct interest in the economic relationship between the supplier and buyer.

Who Certifies the Certifier?
The American National Standards Institute is a non-profit organization founded in 1918 that sets standards for an array of consumer and workplace goods.

The International Standard ISO/IEC 17024:2012 conformity assessment has synchronized expectations for what comprises valued certifications throughout the world. They have standardized the general requirements for bodies operating certification programs by providing a global benchmark for quality certification. In recent years, these standards, developed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), represent members from 162 countries and have significantly changed the way certifications are offered.

Standards are defined by ISO as documented agreements containing technical specifications or other precise criteria to be used consistently as rules, guidelines, or definitions, to ensure that materials, products, processes, and services are fit for their purpose.

According to the World Trade Organization (WTO) rules, governments are required to base their national regulations on standards produced by organizations like ISO and IEC, as much as possible.

For more information about The National Inspection Testing and Certification Corporation (NITC) tests and certification program in the Medical Gas, Plumbing, Pipefitting, HVACR, Fire Protection & Safety Systems and related industries visit